RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Will those work together?(sorry, noob here)

Madski

Hi guys,

Please excuse my noobness but I'm only getting into servers and I'm still kinda lost in it all.

Short story short: Decided to use old unused quad-core PC as a server. Also, in a pile of some unused gear I got from someone I found an old blade server with two of these:

drive.jpg HP's 72.8GB 10000rpm Wide Ultra320 drives.

I have also found this:

atto.jpg which I managed to Identify as Atto ExpressPCI UL5D, Ultra320 SCSI host adapter

My question(or two) now is this - can those be used together? And if not, what drives should I buy to use with that adapter? Any simple explanation and/or links will be greatly appreciated as I really don't know what to look for.

Best regards,

Mads

Edited by Madski

They would probably work together as long as you have a SCSI cable with active termination. But, those drives are loud and hot and small capacity. What OS are you going to run? Chances are there may not be drivers for the latest OS's for the U320 card. Latest SATA would be a better choice.

Sent from my LG-H910 using Tapatalk

They are 10,000 RPM so latency would be low, but their arial density is not close to today's drives so their sustained throughput would be slow.

They would probably work together as long as you have a SCSI cable with active termination. But, those drives are loud and hot and small capacity. What OS are you going to run? Chances are there may not be drivers for the latest OS's for the U320 card. Latest SATA would be a better choice.

Thanks for the reply schoondoggy.