RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Red flashing light and wont start after trying to install a graphics card

alfcapone

Hi, I've recently set up my gen8 running windows 7 and installed 2 4tb wd reds in raid 1. All was working fine until I tried to install a msi gt710 graphics card so I could have a hdmi output.I disconnected all the internal leads attached to the slide out tray at the bottom and fitted the graphics card and once id put it all back together it wont turn on. I'm new to this and had to figure it out as I went along. I removed the card and still wont power up just get the flashing red light on the front. Hoping I haven't killed it :(.

Got to be one of the cable connectors take the board out and check the pins are not bent then put them in gently again. I doubt the card completely killed it

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

Hi, yes your correct after a few more goes it finally started up ok so im guessing I hadn't got one of the connectors pushed on far enough. I was hoping to run it as a media pc/nas but the 1080p playback doesn't seem as smooth as I was hoping. Does anyone know if that's normal? Appreciate the help as im still trying to figure all this out. Thanks.

Are you running windows 7? Maybe I need to change the settings somewhere?  Im using vlc and on my laptop its plays perfect but on my gen8 it plays ok but with a slight stutter at certain points. My first go with a microserver so big learning curve. Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Windows 2012 R2, but I don't see why there should be any difference. Standard settings for the video, nothing changed from what I can remember - it was about a year ago, I no longer have a video card in the Microserver.

• Like 1

I've just been reading and sounds like it might be using the intergrated graphics rather than using the gt 710. Im going to be running plex or kodi once ive got it all working, so hopefully there will be a way to change the settings to use the gt 710 instead.