RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

How do I get started?

Hyram

I'm beginning to regret recommending a Gen8 now ...

I've got an N36L, two N40L's and an N54L, and I love 'em to bits. I've been building HTPC's out of the N-series for a few years, and they've been straight-forward to get going.

Why did HP have to ruin something nice and make this overly-complex, loud monstrosity?

I plan on following Joe's Windows 7 guide (somehow, I can't see videos) ... but so far I'm just running in circles.

I have the SPP 2016.10.0 pack, I've used HP's USB Key utility to write it out to a known-good Kensington 8 GB USB 2.0 stick. I plug it in, power on the Gen8, eventually get to Automatic Update, it goes through three stages and then sits there with 'Please wait, evaluating system' for five minutes then I get a "Sorry, Firefox crashed" error.

I power down.

I boot, I press F5 to access the Smart Storage Administrator, which gives me a page of errors, files don't exist, permission denied on others, can't start Firefox, can't exit or reboot (/sbin/reboot not found !).

Please, can someone shed some light on what I need to do to actually make this thing useful before it meets a large axe?

H

Well, I've made progress - but I had to enlist the help of a HPE chat-support guy, whom I tied up for a bit over two hours. Seems both my BIOSes were corrupt out of the box, so it was a case of feeding it Recovery Media and two different SPPs before iLO woke up and I could fire up SSA without it complaining about a dead Firefox.

WS12 is currently installing - then comes Drive Bender, whilst that's going on I'm researching how to shut that bloody fan up :D

(Anyone got any tips on speeding up POST? Or are we all lumbered with that excruciating three minute delay?)