RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Which OS do you recommend?

JimmyJ01

Hi,

Newbie here in the UK with a question if I may please?

At work we are at last going virtualised for IT support, so I am looking to setup a Virtual environment at home on a HP MicroServer Gen 8, and then access this from work to get some practice in with SCCM.

In your opinion would it be better to Install ESXI 5.5 as the OS of the server, and then host within it a Windows 2008 R2 Domain Server, an SQL Server and an SCCM server and 2 Windows 7 machines, or should I install Windows Server 2008 R2 as the OS of the server instead, and then install ESXI 5.5  within that to host the SQL and SCCM servers and the Windows 7 machines?

I intend to keep the Celeron CPU but will be upgrading the memory to the 16gb max.

Great forums by the way! It's been very educational reading this Gen 8 forum especially :)

Cheers,

JJ

Edited by JimmyJ01

One way to answer the question would be what is your work going to use.  The ESXI industry is strong and is widely supported.  Server Core or Hyper-V is much easier but has some limitations.  I would try ESXI first and see what you think.

Hi, thanks for your replies.

The reason I want to use 2008 R2 and ESXi 5.5 is that these are what work are going to be using, so I would like to mirror their setup as far as is possible.

Cheers

JJ

Go ESXi with the OS's installed on top of that as separate VM's, to do it the other way you suggested would mean having to host ESXI within a Hyper-V on the 2k8 r2 DC which I'm not sure is even possible and if it is you'll impact performance of the VM's.

I would also seriously look at using ESXi 6 update 2 rather than 5.5. V6 brings the web interface to the free version and makes management possible without need for a thick client. Both ESXi 5.5 and WK2r2 are fully end of life within the next 3.5 years

Edited by mattb75

Hi Matt, thanks for the advice