intellution

HP ML10 Additional drive problem

intellution

HI, I inherited an ML10 with server 2012 essentials installed.  I bought a non-hp 3TB hard disk as an additional disk and put it on the second sata socket.  Upon reboot it cant find my c: drive anymore, but when I take out the new drive it boots fine.  Its not configured as RAID, I am not sure why the server cant see my c: drive.  Im new to HP server.  Hope somebody can help.  Thanks

schoondoggy

During pre-boot or in BIOS setup can you see if the storage controller is configured for AHCI or B120i?

rgreenpc

During pre-boot or in BIOS setup can you see if the storage controller is configured for AHCI or B120i?

Kevin - 

Is there an preferred method if setting upon new box with blank drives?

intellution

Thanks for the reply..is the default ahci for a single disk setup? I didnt change any setting in the bios when i added the new hdd. I assumed it would just boot the exisitng c: drive...is there any setting change i need to do to add a new drive?

schoondoggy

Kevin - 

Is there an preferred method if setting upon new box with blank drives?

It depends on what you run for an OS and what you are trying to achieve. AHCI is best if you want to easily move the drives to a different server or if you want to run RAID in the OS, like ZFS. If you want the server to mirror the drives then the B120i is a good way to go. If you want RAID5 or RAID6 then you would need to add a controller card.

I would recommend playing around setting things up with AHCI and the B120i to see which you like best. 

Thanks for the reply..is the default ahci for a single disk setup? I didnt change any setting in the bios when i added the new hdd. I assumed it would just boot the exisitng c: drive...is there any setting change i need to do to add a new drive?

The factory setting for HP servers is the B120i enabled. You need to check the BIOS to see which it is set for or watch during BOOT to see if the B120i screen comes up.