RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Server keeps shutting down

First off I'm a total novice when it comes to the server (Ok with windows in general though), so please no abbreviations. This is just a server I'm using at home.

I've had the server running over a year now and it's been doing a cracking job.

About a week ago I decided to change the server backup routine from twice a day down to once a day - There is only a couple of machines being backed up so once will suffice.

Ran through the wizard and everything went fine. Then at different times the server just shuts down, no warning. Power it back up and it runs for a while then shuts down.

I've gone through the backup setup several time but there is nothing I can see that would cause this. I've disabled backup and re-set it up same thing happens. Looked in the server log and loads of error messages (show me a computer that hasn't).

Now I suspect it's a setting rather than a fault (what do I know). The reason for this is that about six months ago we had a power cut. Turned the server back on and remote in and there was a message that said something like "was that shutdown planned"? I'm not getting this it just boots up as if it was starting up from a planned shutdown.

I'm up to date with all my patches and updates. The only other software on the machine is my AV.

Can anyone help please?

Is this a headless server? It might be prudent to put a monitor/keyboard/mouse on it while you troubleshoot it. A few things to check:

1. Is the OS activated? Certain updates might de-activate your Windows license, forcing it to shutdown every 60 minutes or so. Not sure if it applies here but it's worth it to check it out

2. Check your BIOIS event logs if there's a thermal event that's causing the server to shutdown. Sometimes, a faulty or clogged cooling fan will cause overheating, triggering the system to shutdown to preserve itself