RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
mrossco

Windows 7 Home Premium Family Pack

mrossco

For those of you that follow Paul Thurott and/or listen to his Windows Weekly podcast, you may recall his mentioning a few months back that Microsoft would be re-releasing the Windows 7 Family Pack in time for Christmas. Well, it looks like Santa is coming a bit early!

http://www.staples.com/StaplesProductDisplay?PID=227502&jspStoreDir=Staples&CID=AFF%253A227502%253A227502%253A10422268&productId=348199&cm_mmc=CJ-_-227502-_-227502-_-10422268&langId=-1&SID=E011A0C224309C0A00224309A0A1A0A0E9&AID=10422268&storeId=10001

This is perfect if you have multiple PCs in your home that you'd like to upgrade to Windows 7.

usacomp2k3

Going to try to talk my in-laws into this. We'll see how well that works.

ikon

nice. Too bad, I have a TechNet subscription so I don't really need it.

mrossco

nice. Too bad, I have a TechNet subscription so I don't really need it.

Not to open a can of worms, but TechNet subscriptions are "per seat", meaning you get all those wonderfull software licenses for you personally for learning. The Family Pack deal is for, well, your family. Wife, kids, parents, aunts, uncles, etc. Anyone living in a single houshold can take advantage of the 3 licenses in this pack.

jmwills

Each TechNet key can be activated 10 times.

Guest no-control

Distributing Technet licenses at home on multiple computers you own and with multiple users is accepted. How else are you going to test their software in a home environment? You can also distribute to people outside of your home for non-profit use is also acceptable as well, Its how you test remote functions built into the software.

ikon