RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Update Policy

Poppapete

It seems we get 3 update types. Important, recommended and optional.  I have my server set for Auto update which installs the important ones. I rarely even look at the others unless I have a problem.  What do others her do with server updates?

• Replies 20
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Drashna Jaelre

• jmwills

• Big Worm

• Poppapete

I never let any system auto update.  Download, yes, but install without research, never.  Not even a zero day.

same here, download yes, autoinstall no.
And for the recommended/optional ones I always check the KB's on those to see what's going on. Sometimes it's smaller things, but useful to install anyway.

Wow...you like to live dangerously.

I too, like to live dangerously. 

I also backup twice daily. 

Wow...you like to live dangerously.

It's not about living dangerously.  I have been messing with computers and servers for the past 20 years.  I can't remember a time I ever heard of an update breaking something so bad that it messed everything up.  Plus I don't have the time to sit there and research every update to see if it will break things.  Could it happen, yes.  But I trust the system and if something is messed up, I will fix it.

Glad you've never had an issue in your 20 years.  I know of three times in the last two years (out of my 30) that updates from Microsoft broke Enterprise systems, and I mean almost to the point of being non-usable. Neither do I have have time to research them all, that's why I rely upon blogs and forums to see what is happening with patches pushed from Microsoft that are tested against their "pristine environments".

Consumer grade systems are a different story  These are easily enough restored and I don't have to worry about service level agreements being adhered to for percentage of up time.