RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

My Luma Setup

adriciu

Hi everybody

It is my first time posting on this site, and I hope I didn't jump on a very specialized discussion, where I would be quite a newbie. I ordered and received (but not installed yet) a 3 pack Luma.

My current configuration is:

1 ATT modem/router

1 Linksys WRT 320N modem which acts as a wireless bridge, getting the signal from the ATT router. Some wired connections for Roku, TV, Kody, phone line

1 Netgear R7000 modem acting also as a wireless bridge, getting the signal from Linksys.Some wired connections for desktop, NAS

The reason for this setup is the location of the modem, on the extreme side of the house.

I wanted to install Luma, to be able to create a mesh network, with two gigabit switches to allow for wired connections for the desktop, for phone line, and for a data server.

I am quite concerned about the rivacy of the network, and about the firewall.

I would like to know if I can install Luma behind the firewall created by the the ATT router.

Thank you

Adriciu

Edited by HSS-Dave
Moved to new topic

Yes, you can though you'll end up with a double NAT which may or may not be a big deal depending on your usage and devices. Luma does not currently have an AP mode so you would not be able to disable Luna's own router capabilities. Using the switches off of the Luma should work fine though.

Hi everybody

It is my first time posting on this site, and I hope I didn't jump on a very specialized discussion, where I would be quite a newbie. I ordered and received (but not installed yet) a 3 pack Luma.

My current configuration is:

1 ATT modem/router

1 Linksys WRT 320N modem which acts as a wireless bridge, getting the signal from the ATT router. Some wired connections for Roku, TV, Kody, phone line

1 Netgear R7000 modem acting also as a wireless bridge, getting the signal from Linksys.Some wired connections for desktop, NAS