RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
ariedl

Home Network Advice

ariedl

Hi all--

Let me start by saying I am an extreme novice when it comes to networking. Most of this stuff makes my brain hurt. I've been lurking on the site for a month or so, though, reading many threads, looking for an answer to some issues I've been dealing with this summer. As I don't think I'm going to be able to figure it out on my own, I finally decided to create an account and ask for everyone else's expertise...

Here's my situation: My wife and I moved into our home several years ago and used Uverse for internet until a month ago. We were paying for one of their "extreme" speeds, which still only had us in the 15 Mbps range. Our network initially had to serve about 2000 SF, and with the router placed in the living room at one end of the house, there were connection issues in the bedrooms on the other end. We've been working to finish the basement, and in the last 6 months we were finally able to start using it as living space. This more than doubled the SF of the house, and amplified the connection issues on the network.