RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Universal enterprise, reliable SSD brands? For RAID caching.

lapsio

Hello

I'm quite new to enterprise grade hardware so I'd like to ask about brands that produce really high quality SSD drives as I don't know any of them.

I'm running DIY Linux server with 20TB software RAID6 attached to 128gb SSD cache. Unfortunately I thought Samsung PRO series is kind of semi-enterprise grade but it seems it was terrible misconception. Luckily this was my first SSD ever and I heard they're usually faulty so i didn't really trust it in first place and used cache in write-through mode but still it failed like bilion of times with I/O errors and required array remount at least once a week and cache zero-ing up to point I removed cache at all. I was experiencing exactly the same failures with EVO series but I don't have any of those issues with budget GoodRAM CX100 so it's rather not software related issue. All SSDs tested in the same setup.

So this time I'd like to get something that will work. It doesn't need to be speed daemon but preferably something faster than CX100, But priority is reliability. I thought about HP drives but they seem to be dedicated to HP servers? I'm not sure. What are respected brands of server grade SSDs? Probably I'd be interested in eMLC or even SLC. Compatible with SATA 6. I probably wouldn't like to pay more than 250$ for 128gb though.

Edited by lapsio

Purely a guess on my part, but if both Samsung Pro and EVO failed in your application there may be a compatibility issue between your software RAID cache and Samsung SSD controller chips. Can you give a bit more detail on your setup?

You don't have to go Enterprise to get reliable SSD's. I tend to recommend SSDs from companies that fab their own flash memory:

Intel-Micron-Crucial partnership

Toshiba-SanDisk partnership

Samsung

SK-Hynix