RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
BurrDaBear

Brand new HP ml10 v2 - Questions

BurrDaBear

Hello everyone and thanks for looking at my post, hoping I can learn from you guys. I'm new to the form and new to the whole home server thing. Been a gamer and system builder most of my life but with a wife and 2 kids I don't do much gaming any more and thought I would get a home server up to keep home movies, family pictures, and our music on, and eventually rip my dvd and blu rays collections on. Saw this ML10 v2 on new egg for $200 and gave it a shot. Well I'm up and running right now, stock with a old Seagate 80gig hard drive wich will get replaced. I just ordered a few toys off newegg.com last night to beef this thing up a little and wondered what you guys with a little more knowledge thought. For starters I bought a Adata 60 gig ssd for my os drive. I got a ICY DOCK MB882SP-1S-2B to store it in. I also bought a pci exhaust fan (evercool sb-f1), and a  xfx hd5450 video card so I can give my cousin back his gtx 210 (I don't know why he is so worried about it lol.) I also ordered a stick of Kingston ram KTH-PL316ES/4G. I figured for what I'm using it for the stock I3 and 8gig of ram should be plenty of power. Running Ubuntu 14.10 right now but I maybe switching it to  something like Kodiuntu idk yet. I'm not very rich so my upgrades will have to come in time. Just kind wondering what you guys thought as of now.

Also The hdd cage to me seems like it is some what under utilized. I was wondering if any one here had done a swap with that. I was thinking some kind of backplane with a fan in the front or even in the back. The slot for the cage looks like it is the standard opening for 3x5.25 drives. There are plenty of options I could go with for a 3x5.25 to 4x3.5 with a fan. If anyone has looked into this or has done it please let me know. From  a gamers background not having air move across your hdd is dangerous.