RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Noob here - Please sanity check my set-up?

matf

Hi,

Please can someone just sanity check my setup for me before I head down the whole installation path? I've done a lot of reading of threads and I think I have my head around everything - but not 100%!

1) I have an SSD in the ODD port, connected to sata on the motherboard, and powered via a Floppy to Sata adapter

2) I'm putting 3 x 4TB in the main drive bays

3) I plan to have all drives as RAID0, so that I can boot off the SSD without using the AHCI workaround, and I have in effect JBOD.

4) I'll then install Windows 10 Pro x64 (not sure whether I need to use Intelligent provisioning?)

5) Install Stablepit Drivepool to create a pool (do I need to do anything to recognise the drives?)

6) At some point I want to add a 4th 2TB drive - slightly worried about this as I read you can't expand the array, but I'm thinking I'm not expanding an array, but adding a new RAID0 array.

7) Can I at a later point, remove that 4th drive (the 2TB one) and just replace with a 4TB drive in RAID0 (I know I'll have to move data off etc.)

Does that all make sense? Anything I need to watch out for?

Cheers

M

You mean that you'll put each drive into it's own RAID0 array? 

If so, that should be fine. But keep in mind that you won't get SMART data from the drives, if that matters.

And yes, StableBit DrivePool should recognize the drives just fine. It has no issues with RAID arrays, storage spaces pools, etc.  As long as the drive/array shows up in disk management, and as a "basic" disk there... DrivePool has no issues with seeing/using it.. 

Ah. Didn't know about the SMART issue. Will either ILO or Stablebit Scanner be able to warn me about impending drive failure in that case?

(Thanks btw!)

M

Hi,