RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HP ProLiant ML10 V2 vs HP ProLiant MicroServer Gen8

abpostelnicu

Hello,

First of all i'm very new to the forum and to this kind of domain, i'm just a home user with some technical but limited background in server configuration, i'm a software engineer, and recently i've bought a Gen8 with 4gb of ram and G2020T cpu. On it i've spent around 200euros. Last day i've seen that at local shop they are selling ML10 V2 with G3240 and 4GB of ram for 120eur. As i bought online the gen8 from the same store and i'm still in the grace period i can return it without no question asked and for the money difference i can buy some ram

From the start i must say that no matter my decision i plan to upgrade the cpu to a xenon but as i've seen the xeons for ivy bridge platform are more expensive than the ones for haswell. So my question is what are the main differences between these two server and does worth the trade.

My plans for the workstations are mainly:

1. ans with openmediavault

2. virtualization, as far as i know ml10 is not on esxi's compatibility list.

Thank you, and i appreciate your help.

If space isnt a problem the ML10v2 is the better machine

Intel C204 Chipset Socket 1155
1x PCIe 3.0 x16
2x DDR3 unregistered ECC DIMMs - Maximum 8GB per DIMM for a total of 16GB
2x SATA III 6Gbps on HD bay 0 + 1
2x SATA II 3Gbps on HD bay 2 + 3

1x SATA II 3Gbps for ODD bay
2x Front USB2 ports + 2x Back USB2 ports + 2x Back USB3 ports
200W PSU

Intel C222 Chipset Socket 1150
1x PCIe 3.0 x8 but with a x16 slot
1x PCIe 3.0 x8
1x PCIe 2.0 x1 but with a x8 slot
1x PCIe 2.0 x1 but with a x4 slot
4x DDR3 unregistered ECC DIMMs - Maximum 8GB per DIMM for a total of 32GB
2x SATA II 3Gbps for ODD bay 1 + ODD bay 2
2x Front USB2 ports + 2x Back USB3 ports
350W PSU

Edited by Shonk

If space isnt a problem the ML10v2 is the better machine

Intel C204 Chipset Socket 1155

1x PCIe 3.0 x16