RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HELP! I've caught the Home Server bug and need help to stop buying stuff i dont need!

Kips247

It started out wanting to learn more about networking/ win server stuff - (i work as a desktop/server setup/support guy), played around with vmware worksation and vms. Set DC and messed around win DNS and DHCP, felt good getting things to work.

I decided i needed a server.

Nothing too big, just a baby one, a microserver if you will. I found a good cash back deal on HP gen 8's and got one. Then i found its not high enough spec to do the things i wanted to learn about! Which was ESXI and vsphere (we have a new team at work specializing in virtualization, would be great to get foot in the door)

I saw a good one on ebay for another upgraded gen 8 - xeon 1265v2 16gb - i won it. So now i have 2 servers! I have 2 x 6tb hdds on order - i don't know why! We need storage right?

Plan now is to stop reading forums/guides and actually do some planning and setting up.

I've been a windows guys for 20 odd yrs so now finding about all these other things is mind blowing. So first step take 2 x 6tb hdds add to the low spec gen 8 and setup storage. but do i do windows and raid them up?Have read that the raid controller is pretty poor and could do with upgrade? or freeNAS? - this will be used to store vms and family vids/photos (currently looked after by onedrive).

New high spec server will have ESXI - i want to export my current workstation vms in and have read its possible?

Also on read/would like to learn list - pfsense - i have asus AC56U with standard firmware. Learn more networking for vlan/dmz/firewall knowledge.

Any thoughts?

RAID-1 is fine on the B120i, assuming you're just using it for storage.  It's only if you're using that storage for things like database work virtual machine hosting, etc. that this becomes a bigger deal.