RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Going round in circles getting my ML10v2 setup

emailrob

Please bare with me, I'm still relatively new to networking and servers

I have an older Proliant server with WHS 2010 on it which was fine but too slow for Plex and other functions.

I put my old hard drive into it and wanted to install Windows Server 2012 R2 (I have a key for that)

When I went to install it via USB ISO, it would not find the hard drive in the windows setup. It said no drivers were available. So I researched and found I need HP SPP to get the unit provisioned so all the correct drivers are loaded, then can install server 2012.

I registered the device on HP website as apparently the drivers are now locked down (!). After registering my serial it said my initial warranty was expired and would not give me the software. I contacted HP about this, as it is a brand new unit from newegg. The 1 year warranty is active, but as the 'initial setup' warranty was expired I could not download the SPP ISO from HP.

I found this file on the HP FTP some other way and downloaded the ISO SPP2015060.2015_0605.106.iso (4.7GB)

When I try to mount the ISO boot up it says 'Could not find kernel image:vesamenu.c32'

So now I'm taking the SPP ISO, using the HP USB Key utility, and its currently writing to the USB. I hope this will work??

I also tried Localhost guided update web using the SPP ISO, but it says 'Cannot perform the operation now. Reason: User does not have administrative rights to proceed with the inventory and update.'

Honestly I'm not sure if I'm doing the right thing, and really appreciate any guidance!

Minor update: the HP USB Key installed OK on the local machine, went through the firmware update. Right at the end - Mozilla crashed and would not recover... :(

You only need SPP for setting up the RAID.