RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

8T WD Red Drives

pcdoc

Western Digital is starting pre-orders of the new 8T Helium filled Red Drives that are expected to ship in April.  They are available on their site for $349.

• Like 1

Western Digital is starting pre-orders of the new 8T Helium filled Red Drives that are expected to ship in April.  They are available on their site for $349.

Good price. Wonder what they will cost in the land down under :)

How many did you pre-order?

• Like 1

From what I've heard/seen, this may just be the HGST 8TB He drives with a WD label slapped on them. At a lower price point.

So yeah, order that quickly. 

How many did you pre-order?

Not enough. Never enough. 

• Like 1

None yet.  I am all set right now and will wait to here on the reliability of these drives.  This is pushing mechanical platters pretty high.  I am also concerned about the helium fill.  I work in the aerospace industry and to keep this filled without leaks will be interesting.  I will hold off a bit and get a couple for my synology if there are proven to be reliable or until my curiosity gets the better of me.

• Like 1

I will hold off a bit and get a couple for my synology if there are proven to be reliable or until my curiosity gets the better of me.

So, by June at the latest, then. :P

Personally, I'll hold off, as the Seagate Archive drives are priced $100~ cheaper, for the same capacity, and I'm not worried about performance. 

From what I've heard/seen, this may just be the HGST 8TB He drives with a WD label slapped on them. At a lower price point.

Except the Red is 5900rpm, and the He is 7200rpm.  I suspect they're more a He-Lite.

So, by June at the latest, then. :P

Personally, I'll hold off, as the Seagate Archive drives are priced $100~ cheaper, for the same capacity, and I'm not worried about performance. 

You never know what the future brings....

You never know what the future brings....