RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Running Hyper-V Server 2012 R2 from SSD or fast USB 3.0?

Hey all,

as I explore Hyper-V server for the first time, I'm tempted to look into running it from a fast USB 3.0 stick to free up a valuable SATA socket on my motherboard.

My question is: if I run Hyper-V server from a fast 3.0 USB stick (like this), how much slower will it be than running it from an SSD?

I'll place the VMs on an SSD and have a decent amount of RAM so hopefully they wont be limiting factors.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Drashna Jaelre

• itGeeks

• cocksy

• schoondoggy

Sorry can't help with your question because I am very new to HyperV as well. What I would like to know is what are the advantages/disadvantages of running HyperV bear-metal vs a Windows 10 install running HyperV?

Thanks for the link - that was what I was going to use to give it a go!

My question was more about whether the move to USB would be significantly slower to boot & use than sticking to an SSD?

Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

Drashna Jaelre

I use a normal, spinning HDD for HyperV (the OS), and it runs the system just fine.

All my VM storage is SSD though.

So a USB flash drive should be comparable, at least.

I use a normal, spinning HDD for HyperV (the OS), and it runs the system just fine.

All my VM storage is SSD though.

So a USB flash drive should be comparable, at least.

What I would like to know is what are the advantages/disadvantages of running HyperV bear-metal vs a Windows 10 install running HyperV?

Drashna Jaelre

What I would like to know is what are the advantages/disadvantages of running HyperV bear-metal vs a Windows 10 install running HyperV?

Well, WIndows 10 Pro (yes, requires Pro) has a GUI, making it easier to manage.

However, it uses more resources for all the additional features and programs running.