RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Recommended Graphics Card Virtualisation

thedelph

Hi everyone.

I'm looking to install a low profile graphics card for use in my Gen8.

At the moment I run VM's in Hyper-V, however the resolution of the Guest OS can only scale to around 1366x768.

I Remote Desktop to my server from a 15" macbook pro which runs at 2880x1800 therefore the VM Console Window looks tiny.

I won't be doing any gaming and this isn't currently used as a HTPC. I run Sabnzbd, Sonarr, Couchpotato and Plex Server on this gen8, and then connect in from Xbox one to watch media.

Current specs are default apart from:

SSD in optical drive bay

Xeon e3-1265v2 - passively cooled 
16GB RAM
Running Stable Bit DrivePool so no need for RAID card

All opinions welcome :)

Hmm.. I'm no expert, but I don't have a GPU in my Gen8 (have the same CPU as you though) and I run ESXi6.

My client machine is a Windows 10 PC running at 2560x1440 on a 27" display. I remote desktop to a Windows 10 VM which is my Plex server and runs Stablebit and that also shows up at 2560x1440. So it doesn't appear to be a limiting factor related to the onboard Matrox of the Gen8?

Maybe VMware is a bit cleverer than Hyper-V?

What host and gues OS are you using?

The reason I ask is is that 2012+ as the host and Windows 8+ as the guest should support "enhanced sessions" which support much higher resolutions.

Additionally, why not just RDP into the guest (assuming it's a windows client). 

As for GPU virtualization (RemoteFX), this required RDP CALs or expires after 180 days.

What host and gues OS are you using?

The reason I ask is is that 2012+ as the host and Windows 8+ as the guest should support "enhanced sessions" which support much higher resolutions.

Additionally, why not just RDP into the guest (assuming it's a windows client). 

As for GPU virtualization (RemoteFX), this required RDP CALs or expires after 180 days.