RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

P410 blining Cursor problem

mikelkite

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to building a RAID system. I bought a norrco/logi case 24 bay chassis and had fitted it with some old LSI megaraid legacy RAID cards, which worked fine, but limited me.

I bought a p410 w/ 512 cache and batter, I also bought a 24 port SAS expander card.

When I boot up it gives me LSI RAID function, then boots but with the HP p410 it initializes it and then craps out on me, all I get is a blinking cursor.

I have an asus sabertooth 990fx which I just read someone else has and has a similar problem....

£130 motherboard and it wont load the OS of a stand alone (non raid) disk, or go futher than the blinking cursor. 

Annoyingly i also cannot get into the BIOS because it loads before the BIOS it seems..

Does anyone have any advice, I really could do with it before spending more money on things.....

Hi Guys,

I'm pretty new to building a RAID system. I bought a norrco/logi case 24 bay chassis and had fitted it with some old LSI megaraid legacy RAID cards, which worked fine, but limited me.

I bought a p410 w/ 512 cache and batter, I also bought a 24 port SAS expander card.

When I boot up it gives me LSI RAID function, then boots but with the HP p410 it initializes it and then craps out on me, all I get is a blinking cursor.

I have an asus sabertooth 990fx which I just read someone else has and has a similar problem....

£130 motherboard and it wont load the OS of a stand alone (non raid) disk, or go futher than the blinking cursor. 

Annoyingly i also cannot get into the BIOS because it loads before the BIOS it seems..

HP Smart Array cards are only designed for supported HP Proliant servers. They're not actually intended to be used for anything else according to HP.