RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
guru_fordy

New TS140 setup advice

guru_fordy

Hi all,

I am in the process of buying a TS140 to upgrade a N40L which has been serving me well for ~5 years. it currently has one install of Win2008R2 that runs everything I need (alot) and so I intend to run ESXI 6.0 with multiple VM's to break things up a little on the new TS140.

The reason I'm posting is I am a little new to ESXI and the TS140 so I thought it might be wise to list the hardware I'm going to purchase and see if you guys could provide any advice on the setup.

So here is what I intend to do:

• Kingston 16Gb ECC RAM (will double to 32Gb later)
  • 500 SSD for ESXI and VM images
  • 256 SSD for misc storage for VM's (i.e. databases, FTP...etc)
  • Dual port Intel NIC card 

The idea is that I create 3 x Win2012 servers to serve all the functions I need to:

• AD & DNS
  • Source control and CI build
  • Torrent stuff
  • Websites & FTP
  • SQL 2012 & MySQL
  • Mail
  • Plex

So I've got the server on the way now, but have I forgotten anything or not specc'ed something right?

Any advice on the set up will be more than welcome! 

Thanks

diegolrz

Everything looks good, I have a very similar setup on mine running ESXI 6.

There is 2 things I do differently: RAID 1 with an LSI card and I run the ESXI installation out of a usb 3 drive.

I think you should really consider doing a RAID 1 with the SSDs to protect against failure.

Enjoy!

guru_fordy

Hi diegolrz,

Trouble is the LSI card is a few hundred more isn't it? What other (viable) backup options are there if I don't do that?

Are there any benefits from running ESXI out of a USB rather than the disk with the VM's on?

Thanks.

mattb75

Hi Guru

I'm running a similar setup to the one you describe.  I left the 4GB stick in which came with the TS140 and installed a further 16GB. A some point I'll remove the 4GB and install a further 16GB instead to take it to the maximum, but 20GB is fine for now.