RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Home Server Build Advice for a Novice

Louie4

Hello!

I'm new to this community and also new to networks and servers in general. I'm an undergraduate student and looking to build my first server to run in my apartment/home. I'm a college student so I'd like to save money anywhere I can but I'd like to cap the build at $800. I'm looking to use the server to host my personal website (outsourced currently), as well as to use as a datastore for various mobile applications I develop in my free time. Overall, I'm just looking for a playground to mess around with so I can learn more about the client-server architecture and networking by programming network, server, and client applications. I'm also interested in building the actual device instead of justing buying a NAS system.

As far as operating systems go, I was planning to run either the freeNAS open source, which seems to be highly promoted online, or just a version of Ubuntu since I'm more familiar with that OS. 

I'd appreciate any advice on my choices for the build and OS, as well as suggestions on where I should upgrade or save money. I plan on ordering the parts in the next week so I encourage you to manipulate or criticize the build and point out any errors I may have made.

Home Server Build

1. Case
  2. Motherboard
  3. Processor
  4. RAM
  5. Hard Drives - 3x

Thank you for all your help!

Edited by Louie4

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Similar Content

• dxzdxz1
      By dxzdxz1
      This is my first post here but I've been lurking in this forum for quite sometime now, and from what I understand, the only reason that we couldn't achieve 32gb ram on the Microserver Gen8 was because there was no 16gb unbuffered ecc ram available before.