RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

New to HomeServerShow and to Servers in general

SharnThoR

Hi Everyone!!!

First off...I'm EXTREMELY new to servers and just as new to HomeServerShow...

I've been working with computers for some time though, so I'm not COMPLETELY new :)

Current setup

Netgear DN200 2-bay NAS drive. Connected via Ethernet.

Trenet AC1700 router connecting nas drive and modem-router with each other. Connected via ethernet.

TP-LINK Ac1750 modem/router - connected to the internet and all computers/cellphones/tablets connects here. Connected via ethernet to the network.

Desktop Gaming PC - Used for downloads, gaming etc and is currently on 24/7. Connected via Wifi to the network.

Notebook - Used to stream movies/series to my TV and connected to TV via HDMI and wifi to the network.

Hardware Network Specs

Netgear Nas - Gigabit ethernet

TrendNet Router - Gigabit Ethernet and AC1700 wifi

TP-Link Modem/Router - Gigabit Ethernet and AC1750 wifi - Wifi speeds are shockingly slow though!

Desktop PC - 300mb/s Wifi and Gigabit Ethernet

Notebook - 300mb/s Wifi and 300mb/s Ethernet

We watch a lot of movies etc and I've been looking into a server for quite some time. Also, I want to be able to switch the Desktop off during the day etc.

Last week, I found a HP Microserver Gen 8 G1610T Celeron server at a BRILLIANT price, around R999 (South Africa), around $80! And...it's brand new.

Now, what I would like to do is move the HDD's from the NAS drive into the HP server, then have all my media on the server and have the server as the downloader as well.

I currently use Solar, SANZBD and from time to time, I'd download a torrent file. Otherwise, we've got a large enough collection of DVD"s etc that's stored on these hard drives.

The questions:

1. Which OS will work the best

2. Which OS will support the above mentioned software correctly

3. Will the server actually improve speeds and usage vs the Netgear Nas drive?