RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

HDD configuration of Xpenology for Gen8 MS

mulmul

Hi,

I'm a newbie and have read quite a lot of useful stuff here. I'd like to have some questions on the following:

1. My config: G1610T (J06 07/16/2015, iLO 4 adv 2.30, B120i v5.0), 12GB RAM, 2 Toshiba 3TB 7200 RPM SATA III HDD
  2. Target to store important family photos and videos as NAS (target xpenology) 
  3. I think I'll install it as bare metal > ESXi as I don't need to run other VMs currently.
  4. For the HDD configuration, I'm wondering which will be better:
    • i - 2 HDD in RAID 1 by B120i, then in Xpenology just as a BASIC volume HDD
    • ii - 2 HDD as ACHI mode, then in Xpenology set as SHR

So, for such configurations, I'd like to compare the following factors:

• ease of restoring if the server is broken or 1 HDD is broken. If I have another PC running a Xpenology VM, is that possible to plug back those HDDs and then got back the data?
  • HDD spin down: both options can set spin down or park? 
  • Power and fan consumption. Is that lower fan utilization only when running in B120i RAID mode?
  • HDD monitoring: iLO if RAID and Xpenology if AHCI? 
  • As I don't plan to turn on 7x24 (to increase the lifespan for the HDD also), I'll shut down the server and start when needed. Though, as no S3 suspension support officially, is there any mod or methods to make the boot up faster?

Thanks a lot!

The B120i controller is actually just the SATA controller in the Intel chipset with a HP firmware and HP driver. It is just doing software RAID. The benefit of it is that the disk metadata is the same as the proper HP SmartArray RAID controllers so you can transfer the disks across.

i - 2 HDD in RAID 1 by B120i, then in Xpenology just as a BASIC volume HDD

The necessary driver for the B120i controller doesn't exist for the kernel used by Xpenology as it is a binary only driver. You have to use AHCI if you're running it directly on the Gen8 Microserver.