RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
itGeeks

Sophos Copernicus is now out of Beta and Has a New Name, Sophos XG Firewall

itGeeks

Here is what Sophos had to say about this brand new platform-

https://blogs.sophos.com/2015/11/10/sophos-xg-firewall-a-network-security-ecosystem-with-many-innovations/#more-30035

You can download the free home version from here https://www.sophos.com/en-us/products/free-tools.aspx

Keep in mind this is very much a v1 product but it has everything a home user should need & then some. There is no more 50 IP limit like they had for UTM 9, The only restrictions now are

4 Cores & 6GB of memory, This is more then enough for home use today.

I have been running the beta for several months now and I must say the performance is better then that of UTM9 but there is also some problems getting Netflix working on mobile devices that I have not got worked out yet, They way I got this working when using UTM9 is not working on this new platform.

• Like 1

nrf

I appreciate the update on this. I will give it a go! Will we need a 'drashna' style book to go with it?

nrf

flag on the play - nice that it boots from any 1gb usb stick without some wacky device but after loading up the disk and rebooting it demands an x64 architecture.

I don't have anything like that just lying around.

schoondoggy
nrf

and they have outdone themselves again - the admin guide is 600+ pages!  :)

oj88

Wow, thanks for the update. I think I'll set it up as a VM side by side with my current pfSense VM. This is so that I can literally flip between the two while in production.

schoondoggy

It was recommended to run the old version of Sophos UTM from a drive, due to writing back to the OS. Are they supporting USB drive boot on the new UTM?

Drashna Jaelre

Looks like it's time to upgrade and start writing guides then. ;)