RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Need help to build a small, low budget home server for backups and running one virtual machine

midix

Hi all.

I'm a programmer working from home and I often experiment or develop on virtual machines. As one of my hard drives is currently showing first signs of failing (damaged blocks), I'm worried to think about all the hassle to copy all my virtual machine images, movies, photos to a new drive, and it gets even worse when I think that hard drives these days can be considered in risk zone after three years of use, which means that sooner or later I'll have to go through all of that data copying hassle again. Of course, I have backups for most important stuff, but my virtual machines are not backed up, and some of them have entire development environment which I wouldn't want to reinstall from scratch.

So, now I'm thinking that maybe it is time for me to find a new machine which will be dedicated to storing & running virtual machines and also serving as a backup storage for my main PC.

I will not run it 24/7 but will turn it on/off as required.

It would be great to find an out-of-the box solution which is as close as possible to my requirements, but I could also assembly it myself, I have done it with my main PC which is working rock-stable for 4 years already.

Here are my requirements:

- small case with two 3.5" HDD bays, accessible without using screwdriver. Preferably hot swap, but not mandatory;

- mainboard - mini-ITX or close to that, with minimum required features: 1 NIC, 1 CPU socket, 2 RAM slots, 4 SATA ports, 2 USB ports (preferably USB 3);

- RAM - 8GB of your regular 2x4GB sticks. My main PC currently has 8GB and I find it is totally enough for my needs even when running a virtual machine;