RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)
schoondoggy

Ready to expirement 10Gb Ethernet?

schoondoggy

Trig0r

I'd like too but its not cheap...

If anyone is after transceivers I still have some HP ones... :)

GotNoTime

I've had some experience with 10G ethernet. The core at work is 40Gbps and then the aggregation switches have 10Gbps links to the access switches. All of the other links in/out are single or bonded 1Gbps links. All of it is Cisco gear. Forever fighting bizarre IOS bugs :P None of the stuff I've used is really suitable for a lab even beyond the cost issue since they're all akin to tiny jet engines trying to take off. Your lab would have to be in another building far away for noise reasons.

For home however, I'm happy with gigabit ethernet for now. I don't have anything that needs 10G or faster ethernet so I'll save upgrading for later.

Are those SFP+s compatible with the switch? A lot of stuff has annoying whitelists for specific blessed SFP IDs even though most of them are physically generic ones from somebody like Finisar. Some people make reprogrammable SFPs now where you plug them into a programming box and can set them up to be compatible with any device you want.

Edited by GotNoTime

schoondoggy

I've had some experience with 10G ethernet. The core at work is 40Gbps and then the aggregation switches have 10Gbps links to the access switches. All of the other links in/out are single or bonded 1Gbps links. All of it is Cisco gear. Forever fighting bizarre IOS bugs :P None of the stuff I've used is really suitable for a lab even beyond the cost issue since they're all akin to tiny jet engines trying to take off. Your lab would have to be in another building far away for noise reasons.

For home however, I'm happy with gigabit ethernet for now. I don't have anything that needs 10G or faster ethernet so I'll save upgrading for later.