RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Back up or redundancy?

Streaming

Ive just got my Gen8 and so far have updated the RAM to 12Gb and have a SSD waiting to be installed on which im going to put Win8.1 then upgrade to 10.

So with 2x 3TB wd red, im i better as a home user goin for RAID 1 or set up both disks as RAID 0 then use the 2nd drive as a back using backup software?

Or am i missing the point somewhere? I am VERY new to homeservers.

Thanks guys

RAID is not backup.  It is redundancy, intended to reduce downtime by giving you time to replace a failed disk so you don't have to restore from your backup.

With RAID-1, if you corrupt a file on one drive, you do so on the other.  If you delete a file on one drive and then say "Oops!", you have deleted it on both.

It is for this reason that I have a RAID array on my server *and* a backup.  RAID is not foolproof; if more than one drive fails on my RAID-5 array, I lose the array.  But, I still have a backup.  And I can sustain the failure of one drive before having to do a data restore.

If you can afford only two drives, set one up as data storage, then set up backups to the second drive.  If you can afford a third drive, set up RAID-1 and then use the third drive for backup.  Alternately, you could use RAID-1 on the two drives, and then subscribe to a cloud backup service like Carbonite or Crashplan; just note that restoring a large amount of data from the cloud can take a long time (though it has the advantage that if your house burns down or your server is stolen, you still have your data).

• Like 1

1. An underused feature of Windows which might fit the bill here is FILE HISTORY.

Decent description at:

http://winsupersite.com/article/windows8/windows-8-feature-focus-file-hist

FH is somewhat wasteful of space, creating copies of entire files, not the clever compaction of incremental backup software.