RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Sourcing Questions for a VM Newbie.

itGeeks

I purchased a brand new SUPERMICRO SYS-5018D-MF 1U Rackmount Server Barebone LGA 1150 Intel C222 Express PCH DDR3 1600 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16816101786

and a Intel Xeon E3-1231V3 Haswell 3.4 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W BX80646E31231V3 Server Processor http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117316

and also 16GB of Samsung ECC memory to go into this system. I am thinking of maybe setting up this box with VM's but I have never worked with VM's before so I have no idea what I am doing.

Objectives for this box would be install Windows 10 Pro to run Plex Media Server as well as some other Windows based programs, Allow remote access to the Windows 10 desktop using either native RDP or Team Viewer, I would also like to install Sophos UTM on this box in a VM, There maybe other things I want to do later on but for now I just want to focus on this.

Ok so now my questions,

Q1) What software should I use to create these VM's? Please remember I am a newbie so ease of use is a plus.

Q2) How many network cards do I need in this system? Do I need one network card for each VM I want to create?

Q3) Will the VM's automatically restart if the host server reboots?

Q4) Anything else I need to be aware of setting this up that I have not touched on?

Thanks for taking the time....

1. Hyper-V (it's free)
  2.  According to what you want to do, at least four
  3.  Yes
  4. Is there a Hyper-V role within Windows 10?

if you have a copy of Server 2012R2, you could enable the Essentials and Hyper-V roles and be well on your way to what you want to do.  Of course you could install Hyper-V Core Server as the Host and bypass the need for a full blown OS on the host.  NOTE:  Hyper-V Core is just what it says, a core Server, no GUI.