RESET Forums (homeservershow.com)

Help on which OS to choose

Streaming

Hi All.

I am a noob to the forum, networking and servers.

I have been doing a lot of read about it all and can safely say my head is spinning with all the terminology and acronyns!

Anyway, I purchased a HP Gen8 1610T and extra 8Gb of ram. Ive got an SSD and plan on sticking it in the ODD and use it to run the OS.

Things i want the server to do:

Central point for all files and media.

Backup

Plex streaming

Couch potato, which ive just discovered.

And a printer server.

And... I'm sure when i figure out more things the list will increase :)

2 windows laptops, 2 android phones and a ipad will be connected.

Going to be using 2 3tb HDD, and from what I've read RAID 1 sounds like it would do me.

So what OS should I consider using? I want something simple for me to start playing with. I can afford to spend no more than £100 on software. Heard quite a few mention windows 8.1?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2 windows laptops, 2 android phones and a ipad will be connected.

Going to be using 2 3tb HDD, and from what I've read RAID 1 sounds like it would do me.

So what OS should I consider using? I want something simple for me to start playing with. I can afford to spend no more than £100 on software. Heard quite a few mention windows 8.1?

Hi,

Before August 29 I used Windows 8.1 on my N54L (Gen7) and was quite happy with this OS.

N54L is wired by 1Gb Ethernet with home Wi-Fi router. HTPC is also wired, and Surface and phones are used by air.

HTPC I use Kodi (XBMC http://kodi.tv)to see videos, photos, listen music and watch IPTV, videos, photos and music are stored on N54L.

Kodi is controlled with phones by Wi-Fi.

And now I have Windows 10 on N54L and HTPC. All goes well, except server ATI onboard video (no good drivers), but it's not your case, I think you have Intel in Gen8

Also just yesterday I moved server OS from HDD to SSD and am trying to speed SSD up