Jump to content

  •  

  • Photo

    Dell PowerEdge T20 Server $199


    • Please log in to reply
    58 replies to this topic

    #41 Joe_Miner

    Joe_Miner

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,745 posts
    • LocationCentral Illinois

    Posted 03 March 2014 - 09:22 PM

    just checked with dell.  They said it will do audio out of the hdmi port.  Now I just need to find a good deal on this again.  

     

    If you do get one I'd be VERY interested in what you think of it!


    • 0

    WHS-2011: HAF932,X58A-UD3R,i7-930, 12GB, HD6450, R640L, Corsair GS240GB, 5in3FatCage, 2xDuoSwap, 5*Red4T, DrivePool&Scanner-|- 
    Server10 Gen8 Xeon E3-1265LV2,SDM,ECC KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G, P222/512FBWC, SDM -|- 

    Win7 & S2012R2: N40L 4GB, R620L,  Corsair60GB, TBD -|- Server10 N54L G7, ECCKVR1333D3E9SK2/8G, R640L, 256GBM4, TBD -|-
    Desktop W8.1P64: Lian-Li PC-K9WX,Z77X-UD5H, i7-3770,32GB-RAM,OS-SamPro840-256SSD -|-
    HTPC3 W8.1P64WMC: GD05B, Z68MX-UD2H-B3, i5-2500K, 16GB G.Skill, CorsairGTX240GB -|-
    Laptop W8.1P64WMC: Acer 1810T, 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4-|-


    #42 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 03 March 2014 - 09:29 PM

    just checked with dell.  They said it will do audio out of the hdmi port.  Now I just need to find a good deal on this again.  

    Just to clarify, there is no HDMI port, there are two DisplayPorts and a VGA connection.


    • 0

    #43 ikon

    ikon

      HSS Elite Master

    • Donating Member
    • 14,033 posts

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 10:18 AM

    schoondoggy, you are dead on in thinking Dell is aiming the T20 directly at potential HP Gen8 MicroServer customers: http://partnerdirect...artner-FAQs.pdf


    • 0

    If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


    #44 Narf23

    Narf23

      HSS 1 Post Wonder

    • Members
    • 2 posts
    • LocationSouth Africa

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 03:31 PM

    so just to make sure, i can add in my own hard drive and dvd rw drive but I just need to add the sata cables for them? Just want to make sure before I buy this thing.


    I've just ordered one for my customer and found three interesting facts.
    1. The bay for the DVD RW is tiny - so looks like a special notebook looking DVD RW. So, that would need to be ordered with the server as a normal size will not fit.
    2. Not just add Sata data cables but to connect a DVD RW also need to order a special power cable. Looks like it has 4 power sata connectors..2 for HDD and 1 for DVD or 2 for HDD and 2 for 2.5" HDD
    3. The space for the DVD can also be used to install 2x 2.5" drives, but of course the DVD will not fit.

    I'm receiving the server in the morning and will know for sure then.
    • 0

    #45 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 04:25 PM

    I've just ordered one for my customer and found three interesting facts.
    1. The bay for the DVD RW is tiny - so looks like a special notebook looking DVD RW. So, that would need to be ordered with the server as a normal size will not fit.
    2. Not just add Sata data cables but to connect a DVD RW also need to order a special power cable. Looks like it has 4 power sata connectors..2 for HDD and 1 for DVD or 2 for HDD and 2 for 2.5" HDD
    3. The space for the DVD can also be used to install 2x 2.5" drives, but of course the DVD will not fit.

    I'm receiving the server in the morning and will know for sure then.

    The ODD bay uses a 9.5MM drive. The cable for the drive would be a slim sata like this, but you may have to adapt the power:

    http://www.newegg.co...N82E16812270183


    • 0

    #46 rfs830

    rfs830

      HSS Star

    • Members
    • 57 posts

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 08:52 PM

    well i need a new htpc for now that can also do vms for im going to pick up a intel nuc for now.  I may revisit a i3 or xeon t20 in the next few months.  Hp box is running along though.  It has been a great box.  Cant wait to hear more about this T20 form you all that gone one.  If it goes on sale again I will get one.  Make sure to set up  your slickdeals account to let you know when a new post is set up for servers.  


    • 0

    #47 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 09:10 PM

    Got an email today.

    My Dell T20 should arrive on Friday, which happens to be my birthday! 


    • 1

    #48 Joe_Miner

    Joe_Miner

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,745 posts
    • LocationCentral Illinois

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 09:51 PM

    Got an email today.

    My Dell T20 should arrive on Friday, which happens to be my birthday! 

     

    Congratulations!  Did you get the one with the Xeon?  Can hardly wait to see your pictures!


    • 0

    WHS-2011: HAF932,X58A-UD3R,i7-930, 12GB, HD6450, R640L, Corsair GS240GB, 5in3FatCage, 2xDuoSwap, 5*Red4T, DrivePool&Scanner-|- 
    Server10 Gen8 Xeon E3-1265LV2,SDM,ECC KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G, P222/512FBWC, SDM -|- 

    Win7 & S2012R2: N40L 4GB, R620L,  Corsair60GB, TBD -|- Server10 N54L G7, ECCKVR1333D3E9SK2/8G, R640L, 256GBM4, TBD -|-
    Desktop W8.1P64: Lian-Li PC-K9WX,Z77X-UD5H, i7-3770,32GB-RAM,OS-SamPro840-256SSD -|-
    HTPC3 W8.1P64WMC: GD05B, Z68MX-UD2H-B3, i5-2500K, 16GB G.Skill, CorsairGTX240GB -|-
    Laptop W8.1P64WMC: Acer 1810T, 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4-|-


    #49 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 04 March 2014 - 10:07 PM

    I ordered the Xeon $499 deal. I sold my HP ML110 G6 to make room.
    • 0

    #50 Joe_Miner

    Joe_Miner

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,745 posts
    • LocationCentral Illinois

    Posted 05 March 2014 - 09:10 AM

    You are becoming a really bad influence Schoondoggy!! 


    • 0

    WHS-2011: HAF932,X58A-UD3R,i7-930, 12GB, HD6450, R640L, Corsair GS240GB, 5in3FatCage, 2xDuoSwap, 5*Red4T, DrivePool&Scanner-|- 
    Server10 Gen8 Xeon E3-1265LV2,SDM,ECC KVR1333D3E9SK2/16G, P222/512FBWC, SDM -|- 

    Win7 & S2012R2: N40L 4GB, R620L,  Corsair60GB, TBD -|- Server10 N54L G7, ECCKVR1333D3E9SK2/8G, R640L, 256GBM4, TBD -|-
    Desktop W8.1P64: Lian-Li PC-K9WX,Z77X-UD5H, i7-3770,32GB-RAM,OS-SamPro840-256SSD -|-
    HTPC3 W8.1P64WMC: GD05B, Z68MX-UD2H-B3, i5-2500K, 16GB G.Skill, CorsairGTX240GB -|-
    Laptop W8.1P64WMC: Acer 1810T, 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial M4-|-


    #51 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 7,647 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 05 March 2014 - 09:14 AM

    I will dump my two N40L's to get this box when it goes on sale again.


    • 0

    Windows 7 Desktop - Antec 100 Case, Intel D8H67BL, OCZ 550W PSU, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAM
    Server 2012 - Fractal Arc Midi, CoolerMaster M600 PSU, ASUS P8H67V, Intel i5-2500 CPU w/32GBG-Skill DDR3 1333 RAM, 90 GIG OCZ SSD OS Drive – Roles: Hyper-V (WHS-SharePoint-DC-SQL-Exchange-WSE 2012R2), Print Server - Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD Red
    HTPC Build - Silverstone GD05 Case,x 2
    Travel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 8.1


    #52 poizzon

    poizzon

      HSS 1 Post Wonder

    • Members
    • 2 posts

    Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:32 AM

    Hellow, will T20 will work corectly with windows 8.1 x64 ?

    or it will be better windows 7 x64 ?

     

    i wanna use t20 as workstation, with raid 1


    • 0

    #53 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:39 AM

    Neither is supported by Dell, but I have run both Windows 7 and 8 on the T20. No extensive testing but they worked in basic configuration.

    Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk
    • 0

    #54 poizzon

    poizzon

      HSS 1 Post Wonder

    • Members
    • 2 posts

    Posted 08 May 2014 - 01:59 AM

    USB 3 working corectly ?

     

    software - intel raid ?

    or bete take hardware raid (Manufacturer Part# PEXSAT32) 


    • 0

    #55 snapper

    snapper

      HSS Member

    • Members
    • 30 posts

    Posted 22 May 2014 - 10:04 AM

    Do you know if they support VT-d properly under ESXi?

     

     

    What with the HP BIOS bug that prevents VT-d working under ESXi 5.5 and the firmware update issues, I'm looking for a replacement for my Gen8 Microserver, but PCI Passthrough is a must...


    • 0

    #56 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 22 May 2014 - 10:13 AM

    I have not had much time to play with ESXi on the T20. What would be a good test to verify VT-d functionality and PCI Passthrough?

    Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk
    • 0

    #57 snapper

    snapper

      HSS Member

    • Members
    • 30 posts

    Posted 22 May 2014 - 01:46 PM

    I have not had much time to play with ESXi on the T20. What would be a good test to verify VT-d functionality and PCI Passthrough?

     

    I guess the only real way is to put in a PCI card (network or HBA), check ESXi will pass it through to a VM in the configuration menu and then connect to that VM and see if the device is actually there once its booted...

    The Gen8 Microserver will allow you to connect the PCI card to the VM, but it isn't until the VM is actually spun up that it complains about being unsupported.


    • 0

    #58 schoondoggy

    schoondoggy

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,405 posts

    Posted 11 July 2014 - 12:39 PM

    just checked with dell.  They said it will do audio out of the hdmi port.  Now I just need to find a good deal on this again.  

    Dell just confirmed, they did not enable audio on the DisplayPort ports on the Dell T20.

    http://en.community....1.aspx#20654881


    • 0

    #59 ikon

    ikon

      HSS Elite Master

    • Donating Member
    • 14,033 posts

    Posted 11 July 2014 - 01:36 PM

    Time to break out the old sound card, or maybe install a GPU card that has HDMI with audio?


    • 0

    If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.





    Skins By Invisioneers