Jump to content

  •  

  • Photo

    Autologin in a domain


    • Please log in to reply
    43 replies to this topic

    #1 Drashna Jaelre

    Drashna Jaelre

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,851 posts
    • LocationSan Diego

    Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:18 PM

    Tinker, this is for you. :)

    http://www.mydigital...-domain-member/

    I hadn't had a chance to get around to looking it up or testing it, but I do remember using this in XP before ever discovering the easy way. But this does work in a domain environment, and on Windows 7. I just installed SBS2011E in place for WHSv1 w/ Active Directory, and verified that it does work. Just remember, whatever account you use will have it's password exposed in PLAIN TEXT. But if you use a blank password on a local account, you're fine. Just make sure the domain is set to the computer's name, in this case.

    I hope that helps "ease the transition".

    Christopher Courtney
    Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012
    Lead Moderator for We Got Served
    Director of Customer Relations for CoveCube (StableBit)

    Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials:
    Supermicro SC847E26-R1K28LP, SuperMicro X10SAT, Intel E3 1245v3 (Haswell) 16GB RAM (ECC), Crucial MX200 250GB SSD OS disk, StableBit DrivePool: 102TB, IBM ServeRAID m1015 cross-flashed to "IR" (RAID) mode

     

    HyperV Server 2012R2:

    SuperMicro SYS-6016T-NTF, SuperMicro X8DTU motherboard, Dual Intel Xeon X5560, 16GB (ECC-Registered), 120GB HDD OS Disk, Crucial MX100 500GB SSD for HyperV storage.

     

    Dedicated Emby Server:

    Random 1U case, SuperMicro X8DTi motherboard, Single (to be Dual) Intel Xeon X5660, 12GB (ECC-Registered) (24GB installed), 64GB ADATA SSD OS Disk, 120GB ADATA SSD for data storage

     
    Sophos UTM: 
    Antec ISK 110 VESA case, ASRock RACK J1900D2Y, 8GB of non-ECC RAM, Samsung 850 Pro 120GB SSD OS drive.

     

    When I say "linux", I'm being lazy and I do mean "*NIX/UNIX based operating systems". That includes Linux, BSD, UNIX, etc. 

     


    #2 Hanzoy

    Hanzoy

      HSS Member

    • Members
    • 18 posts

    Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:29 PM

    You can also use Autologon for Windows http://technet.micro...s/bb963905.aspx
    I use this tool for my domain joined Windows 7 HTPC. The password isn't exposed in plain text with this tool.

    #3 Drashna Jaelre

    Drashna Jaelre

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,851 posts
    • LocationSan Diego

    Posted 15 August 2012 - 02:49 PM

    I suspect it does the same thing. I'd recommend checking the registry keys to make sure.

    But since I only use this for my HTPC, which has a blank password...

    Christopher Courtney
    Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012
    Lead Moderator for We Got Served
    Director of Customer Relations for CoveCube (StableBit)

    Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials:
    Supermicro SC847E26-R1K28LP, SuperMicro X10SAT, Intel E3 1245v3 (Haswell) 16GB RAM (ECC), Crucial MX200 250GB SSD OS disk, StableBit DrivePool: 102TB, IBM ServeRAID m1015 cross-flashed to "IR" (RAID) mode

     

    HyperV Server 2012R2:

    SuperMicro SYS-6016T-NTF, SuperMicro X8DTU motherboard, Dual Intel Xeon X5560, 16GB (ECC-Registered), 120GB HDD OS Disk, Crucial MX100 500GB SSD for HyperV storage.

     

    Dedicated Emby Server:

    Random 1U case, SuperMicro X8DTi motherboard, Single (to be Dual) Intel Xeon X5660, 12GB (ECC-Registered) (24GB installed), 64GB ADATA SSD OS Disk, 120GB ADATA SSD for data storage

     
    Sophos UTM: 
    Antec ISK 110 VESA case, ASRock RACK J1900D2Y, 8GB of non-ECC RAM, Samsung 850 Pro 120GB SSD OS drive.

     

    When I say "linux", I'm being lazy and I do mean "*NIX/UNIX based operating systems". That includes Linux, BSD, UNIX, etc. 

     


    #4 ikon

    ikon

      HSS Elite Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 16,090 posts

    Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:26 PM

    The description says it encrypts the credentials in the registry. If Russinovich says it's so, I believe it. The guy is a brainiac extraordinaire.

    If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


    #5 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:27 PM

    You're running a Domain, why not just create a GPO to handle this?

    http://www.grouppoli...ble-auto-logon/
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #6 Drashna Jaelre

    Drashna Jaelre

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,851 posts
    • LocationSan Diego

    Posted 16 August 2012 - 03:09 PM

    Because you'd have to set up specific OUs, or set up filters for the GPO to limit which computers it does it for, or *everything* computer will suddenly start logging into that account automatically. I figured that I should assume ignorance of GPO, honestly.

    But if you are familiar with GPOs, and OUs, that would be an excellent idea, especially if you have multiple HTPCs.

    Also, since I've been using WHSv1 with Active Directory, I didn't actually have that feature available to me.

    Christopher Courtney
    Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012
    Lead Moderator for We Got Served
    Director of Customer Relations for CoveCube (StableBit)

    Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials:
    Supermicro SC847E26-R1K28LP, SuperMicro X10SAT, Intel E3 1245v3 (Haswell) 16GB RAM (ECC), Crucial MX200 250GB SSD OS disk, StableBit DrivePool: 102TB, IBM ServeRAID m1015 cross-flashed to "IR" (RAID) mode

     

    HyperV Server 2012R2:

    SuperMicro SYS-6016T-NTF, SuperMicro X8DTU motherboard, Dual Intel Xeon X5560, 16GB (ECC-Registered), 120GB HDD OS Disk, Crucial MX100 500GB SSD for HyperV storage.

     

    Dedicated Emby Server:

    Random 1U case, SuperMicro X8DTi motherboard, Single (to be Dual) Intel Xeon X5660, 12GB (ECC-Registered) (24GB installed), 64GB ADATA SSD OS Disk, 120GB ADATA SSD for data storage

     
    Sophos UTM: 
    Antec ISK 110 VESA case, ASRock RACK J1900D2Y, 8GB of non-ECC RAM, Samsung 850 Pro 120GB SSD OS drive.

     

    When I say "linux", I'm being lazy and I do mean "*NIX/UNIX based operating systems". That includes Linux, BSD, UNIX, etc. 

     


    #7 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 16 August 2012 - 04:12 PM

    V1 cannot be a DC and yes you would need to create a separate OU and link the GPO to it, but honestly, you done this much, GPO's aren't that difficult.
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #8 Drashna Jaelre

    Drashna Jaelre

      HSS Master

    • Moderators
    • 2,851 posts
    • LocationSan Diego

    Posted 27 August 2012 - 12:20 PM

    My v1 machine would beg to differ. Ran AD on it for *years*. Yes, it's not supported, and *yes* it's against the EULA, but it is still possible. Just like removing WSE2012 from the domain is possible too. :)

    But GPOs may not be that difficult, but if you're not experienced with them, they can be incredibly confusing.

    Christopher Courtney
    Microsoft MVP for Windows Home Server 2009-2012
    Lead Moderator for We Got Served
    Director of Customer Relations for CoveCube (StableBit)

    Windows Server 2012R2 Essentials:
    Supermicro SC847E26-R1K28LP, SuperMicro X10SAT, Intel E3 1245v3 (Haswell) 16GB RAM (ECC), Crucial MX200 250GB SSD OS disk, StableBit DrivePool: 102TB, IBM ServeRAID m1015 cross-flashed to "IR" (RAID) mode

     

    HyperV Server 2012R2:

    SuperMicro SYS-6016T-NTF, SuperMicro X8DTU motherboard, Dual Intel Xeon X5560, 16GB (ECC-Registered), 120GB HDD OS Disk, Crucial MX100 500GB SSD for HyperV storage.

     

    Dedicated Emby Server:

    Random 1U case, SuperMicro X8DTi motherboard, Single (to be Dual) Intel Xeon X5660, 12GB (ECC-Registered) (24GB installed), 64GB ADATA SSD OS Disk, 120GB ADATA SSD for data storage

     
    Sophos UTM: 
    Antec ISK 110 VESA case, ASRock RACK J1900D2Y, 8GB of non-ECC RAM, Samsung 850 Pro 120GB SSD OS drive.

     

    When I say "linux", I'm being lazy and I do mean "*NIX/UNIX based operating systems". That includes Linux, BSD, UNIX, etc. 

     


    #9 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 27 August 2012 - 01:05 PM

    If you haven't worked with them in a while like I had not, they can be, but once you get back into it, it's like riding a bicycle. For anything someone in these forums would need, Google will supply a wealth of answers.
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #10 ikon

    ikon

      HSS Elite Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 16,090 posts

    Posted 27 August 2012 - 01:15 PM

    The 'trick' being that you have to get into them the first time, which can be quite a learning curve for some.

    If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


    #11 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 27 August 2012 - 01:29 PM

    Only one way to learn.....trial and error.
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #12 taho

    taho

      HSS 1 Post Wonder

    • Members
    • 1 posts

    Posted 11 September 2012 - 12:27 PM

    Try LogonExpert it can autologon to domain and encrypt the password

    #13 ikon

    ikon

      HSS Elite Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 16,090 posts

    Posted 11 September 2012 - 05:22 PM

    Try LogonExpert it can autologon to domain and encrypt the password


    They really want to sell multiple copies: the 5-user license is half the price of 5 single licenses. Still, it's an interesting product.

    If at first you don't succeed, do it like your mother told you.


    #14 Mr_Smartepants

    Mr_Smartepants

      HSS Champion

    • Members
    • 352 posts

    Posted 11 September 2012 - 11:16 PM

    I never tried this on a domain, but why not just open a cmd window and type "control userpasswords2" and uncheck the box (there is only one), click "OK", then select the user/password info and you're done.
    This uses the M$ tool embedded in the OS since XP.
    We use this on our POS terminals at work.

    Edited by Mr_Smartepants, 11 September 2012 - 11:16 PM.

    HP EX490 (E5200 CPU & 4GB RAM upgrades) WHS2011. HP N54L Microserver (4GB RAM) WHS2011.

    DriverPacks.net Administrator and Team Lead. Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear dog-tags & Kevlar!
    Stand-Alone Driver Disk (SAD2) update utility for DriverPacks.net (installs drivers automatically on all versions of Windows from 2000 to 2012).


    #15 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 12 September 2012 - 04:13 AM

    hIf the client is a domain member, the Domain policy will override any local policy. Now as we have stated before, all you have to do is move those machines to a new OU, create a GPO that removes the password policy and then that could work,
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #16 Guest_no-control_*

    Guest_no-control_*
    • Guests

    Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:48 PM

    Here I made it easy for everyone in a step by step.

    #17 jmwills

    jmwills

      HSS Genius

    • Donating Member
    • 8,954 posts
    • LocationHuntsville, AL

    Posted 12 September 2012 - 12:56 PM

    Love the OU name!
    Windows 10 Desktop - Intel D8H67BL, Intel i3-530 CPU w/16GB G-Skill DDR3 1333 RAMServer 2012R2 -Norco RPC 450B- SuperMicro D-1541 SOC w/128GB RAM – Roles: Hyper-V (SharePoint 2013/2016-DC-SQL-WSE 2012R2, WHS 2011 Test, Windows10,)<p>WHS2011-Norco RPC 450B - i3 SandyBridge - 8GB RAM Rocket RAID 2720 4 x 3TB WD RedTravel Laptop: Lenovo U310 13.3" Windows 10 Build 10544

    #18 Guest_no-control_*

    Guest_no-control_*
    • Guests

    Posted 12 September 2012 - 01:05 PM

    I had to inject my humor somewhere!

    #19 tinkererguy

    tinkererguy

      HSS Champion

    • Donating Member
    • 310 posts
    • LocationConnecticut

    Posted 12 September 2012 - 07:36 PM

    Tinker, this is for you. :)


    Thank you :D

    VMware ESXi 6.0

    Supermicro SuperServer SYS-5028D-TN4T
    Xeon D-1540 w/ 128GB DDR4 RAM, 4 HDDs, 2 SSDs, & 1 Samsung 950 Pro M.2 NVMe 512GB SSD

    Paul Braren


    #20 mr3man

    mr3man

      HSS 1 Post Wonder

    • Members
    • 1 posts

    Posted 21 September 2012 - 10:29 PM

    Here I made it easy for everyone in a step by step.


    Thank you so much for this. Google brought me here and your effort was worth registering to say thanks ^_^

    I was also able to accomplish this task using Autologon for Windows at: http://technet.micro...s/bb963905.aspx




    Skins By Invisioneers