8 replies to this topic

#1 Shepherd Jim

Shepherd Jim

HSS 1 Post Wonder

• Members
    • 7 posts
    • LocationBristol, Maine USA

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:15 AM

When I am able to get into the console of my HP 475 MediaSmart I am not able to copy or move any files from either the "Public" directory or any of the User "Shares". I can SEE the files on the WHS, but I am not able to access them via "drag and drop", "copy/paste" or any other means.

When I try to log into the WHS Console I often wind up in an empty light blue window. I'm no expert but attempting to access everything via Remote Desktop Connection does not seem to work.

I sometimes see a notice telling me that a previous attempt to open the WHS Console was unsuccessful because there was a problem with the file "HomeServerConsoleTab.HP.dll" -- the notice tells me I should disable the add-in with which the file is associated, but I have not been able to find the file anywhere.

Thinking --------------------------------------------------------
    I'm becoming more and more frustrated with my WHS. Lately it seems like I'm having a new problem every three months or so. A recurring problem would be easier to deal with as I would just apply the fix I'd learned before. Inasmuch as Microsoft themselves already pretty much tore the heart out of the "Home Server" I'm thinking I should just ditch the HP WHS appliance, take out the HD's and install them in another Drobo to run as a NAS and do Carbonite on my and my wife's laptop hard drives.
    -- i wish i knew then what i know now ---- i wish i knew then what i know now --

#2 diehard

diehard

HSS Elite

• Moderators
    • 1,618 posts
    • LocationMontreal

Posted 28 March 2012 - 10:29 AM