#1 SabatonFan80

SabatonFan80

HSS Pro

• Donating Member
    • 146 posts
    • LocationOttawa, Ontario

Posted 24 July 2011 - 08:53 AM

Hi guys,

I think I've finally reached the end of my rope as far as trying to get WHS to play nicely with my Xbox 360s. I've been fighting with WHSv1 off and on for about 6 months now trying to get things to be visible in a reliable way (currently, they're not). This week I've been trying to setup up a WHS2011 VM in the hopes of finally having a decent DLNA server without any successful results.

In my WHSv1 machine, my current setup is using the Servio plugin to share the media. For whatever reason it seems as though the 360s see my shares exposed through Servio more easily than natively through WHS. The only problem is that Servio doesn't seem to easily recognize changes whenever I add/remove files, and it seems to be hit or miss as to whether the content will actually be served when it comes time to play.

I setup the WHS2011 VM in the hopes that all of these problems would just go away (they haven't). I'm frankly a little confused and frustrated with how difficult it's been to get these two products (WHS (either version) and the Xboxes) to play nicely with each other.

I'm not doing anything odd or strange on my network that I could see having an impact on this. My router is a Dlink DIR-655 (uPNP is enabled), and most of the connectivity is achieved via HomePlug AV connections. Running the network over the power lines isn't the fastest, but when it works I've had no problems streaming (running cat6 or wireless isn't an option). I've got about 6TB worth of ripped music and videos (mixture of DVDs and downloaded .avi's) that I'm trying to expose throughout the house to Xbox 360 front-ends.