6 replies to this topic

#1 geek-accountant

geek-accountant

HSS Advanced

• Donating Member
    • 871 posts
    • LocationAtlanta Area

Posted 10 July 2011 - 07:51 PM

In another podcast (not sure what the etiquette is concerning other podcast, so sorry if I shouldn't mention it), we discussed Andrew Morris's (unrealshots here on the forums) method of taking panorama photos. He puts the camera in rapid fire mode and just fires away while panning the camera. You then bring in the images to Photoshop and let it sort out all the blending. I have never tried this before. Any time I did pano's, I used a tripod and carefully made sure i got overlapped images and tried to keep the camera level as it panned.

So I went out today and gave it a try. I turned the camera to the vertical position so I would get more vertical data started firing away. Then I brought the images home and loaded them into Photoshop. There were 30 images in the pano!!! Took the computer a bit to process and I was glad I accidentally picked up the D2h (4mp) rather than my D2x (12mp+) when I headed out the door. If I had know it was going to be 30 images, I would have switched in JPEG mode also.

Anyway, while not a particularly interesting pano, the method did work. Shooting vertical was a good idea because I did have to crop more than usual due to the hand-holding.

Here is the shot.

Posted Image
    unRAID server 18.5TB
    WSS-2011 5TB internal + 4x3TB RAID 5 Mediasonic USB 3.0 external storage
    Hyper-V server running 10 VM's(AMD 6 core with 16gig of ram - Raid 5 & Raid 0, plus USB 3 Mediasonic 4 drive enclosure)
    pfSense & Untangle (aka, SUPER ROUTER) running as seperate machines
    Broadcast server - broadcast the jpeg2RAW podcast - AMD 8 core 4Ghz, 8gig DDR3 1600, RAID 0
    [url="""]The jpeg2RAW podcast site[/url]

#2 HSS-Dave

HSS-Dave

Founder

• Administrators
    • 2,031 posts
    • LocationIndiana

Posted 10 July 2011 - 08:01 PM