Jump to content

  •  

  • Photo

    WHS 2011 and Antivirus


    • Please log in to reply
    138 replies to this topic

    #1 pcdoc

    pcdoc

      HSS Legend

    • Moderators
    • 3,957 posts
    • LocationLos Angeles, California

    Posted 21 February 2011 - 04:39 AM

    Sometimes there are things that just do work well together. Existing antivirus programs and WHS are two of those things. First I tried AVG which claims to be 2008R2 compatible (and works fine on my 2008 R2) which I installed. Every time I installed it I would loose the media library via remote aceess. Remove it and all is well. Next I tried NOD32 which is alos a server 2008R2 program. This times I lost my picture library, and it completely hosed my installation of WHS 2011. I could not uninstall and it completely locked the system. When I rebooted the install was corrupt and would not let me run the install program. The silver lining is the in windows system recovery in WHS 2011 is absolutely awesome and restored my configuration back to yesterday in about 12 mins. The only thing I lost was the couple of hours I spent this morning creating a bunch of shares. The moral of the story is stay away from AV programs for WHS 2011 until they give us one that is made for it.
    • 0

    Main Server - WHS 2011, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5 (5x3T) + 2T of Mirror + 2T of backup
    Second Server - 2012, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5
    Main Systems - Core I5-4770, 16 Gigs DDR3-1600, 180 Gig Intel 330 SSD. 240 Gig Intel 520, 3T Seagate - Other systems - Core I7-2600, 2 x Core I5-2500, Core I5-4570S, Core I3-2100, and G620

    My Blog - The Doc's World
    Tablet Resource - BYOB Videos - TheBYOBPodcast

    For More Information:

    Computer Systems

    Home Network


    #2 Neophyte

    Neophyte

      HSS Star

    • Members
    • 80 posts
    • LocationRosemount, MN

    Posted 21 February 2011 - 06:27 AM

    What about Security Essentials? Didn't they make it compatible with 2008R2?
    • 0
    Server: WHS2011, i5-2500K, Gigabyte GA-H67N-USB3-B3, GSkill Ripjaws X 4GB, CoolerMaster Silent Pro 600W, Silverstone Slim DVD, Lian Li PC-Q08
    IcyDock MB982SPR-2S, 2 x 250 GB WD Black RAID1 OS; Highpoint 2680 RAID card - 2 x 1 TB WD EADS RAID1, 4 x 2 TB WD EARS RAID5
    Main: Win7 Pro, i3-540, Zotac H55ITX-C-E, GSkill Ripjaws 4GB, 500 GB WD Black OS, Silverstone Strider Plus 500W, ASUS DVD, Lian Li PC-Q11
    Bench: Win7 Ult/Win8, i3-2125, Intel DH67CF, GSkill Ripjaws X 4GB, Seasonic SS-460FL, Antec Skeleton

    #3 jcollison

    jcollison

      HSS Advanced

    • Moderators
    • 791 posts
    • LocationBellevue, NE

    Posted 21 February 2011 - 06:53 AM

    With all the hoopla around DE and the new DE add-ins...I totally forgot about AV. Will do some testing on MSE right now!

    5 minutes later....well that was easy. I get the "this version does not support this OS" message. Will have to figure a way to hack it on. Bummer.
    • 0

    #4 mrossco

    mrossco

      HSS Champion

    • HSS Writers
    • 477 posts
    • LocationSt. Louis, MO

    Posted 21 February 2011 - 12:04 PM

    5 minutes later....well that was easy. I get the "this version does not support this OS" message. Will have to figure a way to hack it on. Bummer.


    When I get a chance, I'll try to install the Forefront Endpoint Protection 2010 client and see how that works out. I've installed that stand-alone w/o the server on some of my test and demo VMs running 2008 R2. Not sure how this would really help in a production scenario, however.
    • 0

    Office PC - Intel Core i7-3930K, ASUS Sabertooth X79, G.SKILL Ripjaws Z Series 16GB, 2 x EVGA GeForce GTX 680 (SLI), Samsung 840 Pro 512GB SSD, Corsair AX1200, Lian-Li PC-6FNWX
    WHS - Intel S3210SHLC, Intel X3360, 8GB DDR2 ECC, Intel RS2WC080 RAID, OCZ Vertex 2 SSD (OS), WD RE4-GP x 6 RAID 5 (Data), Intel SSD 320 80GB x 2 (Cache)
    HTPC - Intel Core i3-2120T, Intel DH67CFB3, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Seagate Momentus XT 500GB 2.5" Hybrid, Silverstone LC-19
    Hyper-V - Intel X3470, Intel S3420GPLC, 32GB Kinston ECC,  Intel RS2WC080 RAID, OCZ Vertex Plus 60GB SSD (OS), WD RE4 2TB x 4 (VHD)
    Sophos UTM | EnGenius EAP600 | MacBook Pro Retina late-2013 | Nokia Lumia 900


    #5 pcdoc

    pcdoc

      HSS Legend

    • Moderators
    • 3,957 posts
    • LocationLos Angeles, California

    Posted 21 February 2011 - 07:59 PM

    When I get a chance, I'll try to install the Forefront Endpoint Protection 2010 client and see how that works out. I've installed that stand-alone w/o the server on some of my test and demo VMs running 2008 R2. Not sure how this would really help in a production scenario, however.



    I saw that but was not sure that it would be good for a standalone server.

    Jim,

    Got the same message. Actualy that was the second one I tried. There is not much out there.
    • 0

    Main Server - WHS 2011, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5 (5x3T) + 2T of Mirror + 2T of backup
    Second Server - 2012, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5
    Main Systems - Core I5-4770, 16 Gigs DDR3-1600, 180 Gig Intel 330 SSD. 240 Gig Intel 520, 3T Seagate - Other systems - Core I7-2600, 2 x Core I5-2500, Core I5-4570S, Core I3-2100, and G620

    My Blog - The Doc's World
    Tablet Resource - BYOB Videos - TheBYOBPodcast

    For More Information:

    Computer Systems

    Home Network


    #6 timekills

    timekills

      HSS Advanced

    • Donating Member
    • 864 posts
    • LocationFort Bliss (hah), Tejas

    Posted 22 February 2011 - 11:25 PM

    ClamAV. Works well on my WHS2011 box. Not going to try and claim how effective it is, but it is low-resource and causes no problems.
    • 0

    #7 pcdoc

    pcdoc

      HSS Legend

    • Moderators
    • 3,957 posts
    • LocationLos Angeles, California

    Posted 23 February 2011 - 01:23 AM

    ClamAV. Works well on my WHS2011 box. Not going to try and claim how effective it is, but it is low-resource and causes no problems.



    Great to know, I may try it. Did get an email from AVG and they are going to release a WHS 2011 version but they would not commit to a date. Thanks for the information.
    • 0

    Main Server - WHS 2011, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5 (5x3T) + 2T of Mirror + 2T of backup
    Second Server - 2012, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5
    Main Systems - Core I5-4770, 16 Gigs DDR3-1600, 180 Gig Intel 330 SSD. 240 Gig Intel 520, 3T Seagate - Other systems - Core I7-2600, 2 x Core I5-2500, Core I5-4570S, Core I3-2100, and G620

    My Blog - The Doc's World
    Tablet Resource - BYOB Videos - TheBYOBPodcast

    For More Information:

    Computer Systems

    Home Network


    #8 jcollison

    jcollison

      HSS Advanced

    • Moderators
    • 791 posts
    • LocationBellevue, NE

    Posted 23 February 2011 - 06:52 PM

    Same song, second verse...seems like I have been here before? Oh wait...I have! Bummer
    • 0

    #9 Mr_Smartepants

    Mr_Smartepants

      HSS Champion

    • Members
    • 352 posts

    Posted 25 February 2011 - 01:00 AM

    With SBS 2011 out the door, you'd think that the A/V companies would be crawling over themselves fighting to get marketshare in this new arena.
    Why aren't we seeing new A/V products that support the new server arch?
    And with DE out of the picture, there's no excuse for the A/V companies to exclude Home Server either.
    Drat!
    While ClamAV is OK, it doesn't offer realtime scanning.
    • 0

    HP EX490 (E5200 CPU & 4GB RAM upgrades) WHS2011. HP N54L Microserver (4GB RAM) WHS2011.

    DriverPacks.net Administrator and Team Lead. Some heroes don't wear capes, they wear dog-tags & Kevlar!
    Stand-Alone Driver Disk (SAD2) update utility for DriverPacks.net (installs drivers automatically on all versions of Windows from 2000 to 2012).


    #10 jcollison

    jcollison

      HSS Advanced

    • Moderators
    • 791 posts
    • LocationBellevue, NE

    Posted 25 February 2011 - 12:19 PM

    Maybe we need to give it just a couple more weeks? I will keep my eyes open!
    • 0

    #11 timekills

    timekills

      HSS Advanced

    • Donating Member
    • 864 posts
    • LocationFort Bliss (hah), Tejas

    Posted 25 February 2011 - 10:29 PM

    I know we've discussed this ad nauseum with WHSv1, but I'm still in the camp that says I don't need - or want - additional real time scanning and it's overhead on a file server when my workstations already do this. The concern is more with malware embedded into websites these days anyway, and hopefully most people aren't using their WHS as a web-surfing machine...
    • 0

    #12 no-control

    no-control

      HSS Elite

    • BYOB Podcasters
    • 1,783 posts
    • LocationSoCal

    Posted 25 February 2011 - 11:20 PM

    ^^^
    This

    I concur
    • 0

    VISIT MY BLOG
    Find me on the internet

    I've been censored by the HSS

    #13 pcdoc

    pcdoc

      HSS Legend

    • Moderators
    • 3,957 posts
    • LocationLos Angeles, California

    Posted 25 February 2011 - 11:49 PM

    You are right we have discussed this allot however I still believe it is important for two reasons. First, remote access espcially if you have write access. I access my sever from work all time to transfer files and would prefer not to attach anything that does not below. Work AV is good but because of size therer is always one threat or another. Secondly, in the last year, I have the server detect 3 separte files that where infected. So at that point I became a believer. Theoritically that should not happen but it did. Everyone needs to find a strategy that works for them but for me, I want the extra protection. Call me paranoid.
    • 0

    Main Server - WHS 2011, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5 (5x3T) + 2T of Mirror + 2T of backup
    Second Server - 2012, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5
    Main Systems - Core I5-4770, 16 Gigs DDR3-1600, 180 Gig Intel 330 SSD. 240 Gig Intel 520, 3T Seagate - Other systems - Core I7-2600, 2 x Core I5-2500, Core I5-4570S, Core I3-2100, and G620

    My Blog - The Doc's World
    Tablet Resource - BYOB Videos - TheBYOBPodcast

    For More Information:

    Computer Systems

    Home Network


    #14 PCEddie

    PCEddie

      HSS Pro

    • Members
    • 204 posts
    • LocationCharlotte, North Carolina

    Posted 26 February 2011 - 07:59 AM

    Good Morning All,

    I have read this thread and currently testing Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333). So far the installation was smooth with no errors. I will be testing this out this weekend and part of next week. I will post my results to the thread.
    • 0
    Email: [email protected]
    Web Site: www.pceddienc.com
    Google+: https://plus.google....179565831/posts
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/pceddienc

    #15 pcdoc

    pcdoc

      HSS Legend

    • Moderators
    • 3,957 posts
    • LocationLos Angeles, California

    Posted 26 February 2011 - 02:01 PM

    Good Morning All,

    I have read this thread and currently testing Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333). So far the installation was smooth with no errors. I will be testing this out this weekend and part of next week. I will post my results to the thread.



    Very interested in your results. Looked at it briefly and it seem a bit confusing as well as designed to protect not only your server but all you clients as well. The concept is cool so let us know what you think.
    • 0

    Main Server - WHS 2011, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5 (5x3T) + 2T of Mirror + 2T of backup
    Second Server - 2012, Core I5-2500, 12T RAID 5
    Main Systems - Core I5-4770, 16 Gigs DDR3-1600, 180 Gig Intel 330 SSD. 240 Gig Intel 520, 3T Seagate - Other systems - Core I7-2600, 2 x Core I5-2500, Core I5-4570S, Core I3-2100, and G620

    My Blog - The Doc's World
    Tablet Resource - BYOB Videos - TheBYOBPodcast

    For More Information:

    Computer Systems

    Home Network


    #16 ImTheTypeOfGuy

    ImTheTypeOfGuy

      HSS Master

    • Donating Member
    • 2,425 posts
    • LocationhOUston

    Posted 26 February 2011 - 08:53 PM

    If you have anything that downloads metadata on your server then you need AV.
    • 0
    ITTOG


    - WHS V1: Dell XPS 420; Quad Core @ 2.66 GHz; 4 GB RAM
    - S2008R2: Lian Li PC-A70F, EVGA X58 3X SLI, i7 920 @ 2.67 GHz; 12 GB RAM, 2 x 250 GB WD Black Caviar in IcyDock Enclosure with Raid 1, EVGA GeForce GT 240, 12TB RAID5
    - HTPC: Silverstone Lascala, Gigabyte GA-H55-USB3, i3 530 @ 2.93 GHz, 4 GB Ram, 60 GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD, 12TB RAID5
    - Personal Desktop: Lian Li PC-9F, ASUS Sabertooth P67, i7 2600k @ 4.1 GHz, 16 GB RAM, 2 x 120 GB OCZ Vertex 2 SSD's in Raid 0, EVGA GTX580
    - Kids Desktop: Dell Dimension 8400 Pentium 4 560, 3.6GHz, 2 GB RAM - Lets not forget this beauty!
    - Other Devices: iPad, Boxee Box, XBox's, PS3, Wii, and HP TouchPad

    #17 PCEddie

    PCEddie

      HSS Pro

    • Members
    • 204 posts
    • LocationCharlotte, North Carolina

    Posted 27 February 2011 - 06:59 PM

    Day one with Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) and all seems to be working fine. I checked WHS 2011 and no errors. I have setup Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) to scan all hard drives and no errors. I was able to get Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) from the university I attended. Although there is no addon for Symantec i don't mind as long as it is doing the job.

    Edited by PCEddie, 27 February 2011 - 06:59 PM.

    • 0
    Email: [email protected]
    Web Site: www.pceddienc.com
    Google+: https://plus.google....179565831/posts
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/pceddienc

    #18 no-control

    no-control

      HSS Elite

    • BYOB Podcasters
    • 1,783 posts
    • LocationSoCal

    Posted 27 February 2011 - 11:43 PM

    If you have anything that downloads metadata on your server then you need AV.


    If it goes past your default gateway into the great world wide web it goes without saying it should have an AV. Otherwise your just burning cpu cycles to dbl chk the data. Nothing wrong with it, but...just sayin'
    • 0

    VISIT MY BLOG
    Find me on the internet

    I've been censored by the HSS

    #19 PCEddie

    PCEddie

      HSS Pro

    • Members
    • 204 posts
    • LocationCharlotte, North Carolina

    Posted 05 March 2011 - 07:17 AM

    What about Security Essentials? Didn't they make it compatible with 2008R2?



    I just installed Windows Server 2008r2 Enterprise on a test computer and installed Microsoft Security Essentials. It did install with no problems and currently running it for a few days to see how it works. I did not receive any errors during the install. Although WHS 2011 is based on Windows Server 2008r2 there are some differences in what software can be installed on each OS. I hope Microsoft will update Security Essentials to install on WHS 2011 and Windows Small Business Server 2011 Essentials.
    • 0
    Email: [email protected]
    Web Site: www.pceddienc.com
    Google+: https://plus.google....179565831/posts
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/pceddienc

    #20 PCEddie

    PCEddie

      HSS Pro

    • Members
    • 204 posts
    • LocationCharlotte, North Carolina

    Posted 05 March 2011 - 07:28 AM

    Day one with Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) and all seems to be working fine. I checked WHS 2011 and no errors. I have setup Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) to scan all hard drives and no errors. I was able to get Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) from the university I attended. Although there is no addon for Symantec i don't mind as long as it is doing the job.


    I have tested Symantec Endpoint Protection (version 11.0.5002.333) this week and did not run into any issues. I had setup Symantec Endpoint Protection to auto update daily and scan all hard drives daily. I had put some test date on a hard drive which Symantec Endpoint Protection was able to scan with no issues. I will use this AV software on my WHS 2011 build until Microsoft updates Microsoft Security Essentials to run in WHS 2011 and SBS 2011.
    • 0
    Email: [email protected]
    Web Site: www.pceddienc.com
    Google+: https://plus.google....179565831/posts
    Twitter: http://twitter.com/pceddienc




    Skins By Invisioneers