• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 intellution

intellution

HSS 1 Post Wonder

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 October 2016 - 10:03 AM

HI, I inherited an ML10 with server 2012 essentials installed.  I bought a non-hp 3TB hard disk as an additional disk and put it on the second sata socket.  Upon reboot it cant find my c: drive anymore, but when I take out the new drive it boots fine.  Its not configured as RAID, I am not sure why the server cant see my c: drive.  Im new to HP server.  Hope somebody can help.  Thanks

#2 schoondoggy

schoondoggy

HSS Genius

• Moderators
  • 7,108 posts

Posted 07 October 2016 - 02:43 PM

During pre-boot or in BIOS setup can you see if the storage controller is configured for AHCI or B120i?

#3 rgreenpc

rgreenpc

HSS Pro

• Members
  • 135 posts

Posted 07 October 2016 - 04:39 PM

During pre-boot or in BIOS setup can you see if the storage controller is configured for AHCI or B120i?

Kevin - 

Is there an preferred method if setting upon new box with blank drives?

#4 intellution

intellution

HSS 1 Post Wonder

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 07 October 2016 - 05:41 PM

Thanks for the reply..is the default ahci for a single disk setup? I didnt change any setting in the bios when i added the new hdd. I assumed it would just boot the exisitng c: drive...is there any setting change i need to do to add a new drive?

#5 schoondoggy

schoondoggy

HSS Genius

• Moderators
  • 7,108 posts

Posted 08 October 2016 - 09:06 AM

Kevin - 

Is there an preferred method if setting upon new box with blank drives?

It depends on what you run for an OS and what you are trying to achieve. AHCI is best if you want to easily move the drives to a different server or if you want to run RAID in the OS, like ZFS. If you want the server to mirror the drives then the B120i is a good way to go. If you want RAID5 or RAID6 then you would need to add a controller card.